Whetstone Apartments

(59)
 501 Willard StreetDurhamNC 27701
$1125 - $20501-2 BedsPets OK

Floor Plans

1 Bedroom - starting at $1125
2 Bedrooms - starting at $1420

Prices, specials, features and availability subject to change.

Kitchen:

DishwasherGarbage DisposalIsland KitchensMicrowaveRefrigeratorStainless Steel Appliances

Laundry:

Washer/Dryer in Unit

Parking:

Covered ParkingGarage

Pets:

Pets OKPet Park

Features:

Air ConditioningBalcony, Patio, DeckCable ReadyCeiling Fan(s)Furnished AvailableHardwood FloorsHigh Speed Internet AccessInternet IncludedNew/Renovated InteriorOversized ClosetsViewWireless Internet Access

Community:

Accepts Credit Card Payments, Accepts Electronic Payments, Business Center, Clubhouse, Conference Room, Controlled Access, Disability Access, Elevator, Emergency Maintenance, Fitness Center, Gated Access, Media Center, On Site Maintenance, On Site Management, Pool, Smoke Free, Trail for: Biking, Hiking, or Jogging

Additional:

Bike Storage, Covered Parking and Controlled Access, Digital Cable Available, Elevator Access to All Floors, Entertaining Community Room, Garden Courtyard with Grill and Fireplace, Gourmet Kitchens with Granite Counter tops, Luxurious Saltwater Resort Style Pool, NEW! USB Ports added to Outlets, Private Patio/Balcony, Public Transportation, Short Term Available, Spacious Walk In Closets, State of the Art Fitness Center, WI-FI Available

Property Details

Special: THREE Months FREE Rent!Whetstone Apartments is one of downtown Durham's newest class A pet-friendly communities. Designed to offer the perfect urban experience. Whetstone combines a premium location with luxury amenities and signature floor plans to ensure you enjoy comfort, convenience and style.The exciting location is just steps away from the area's best shopping, dining, sporting events, parks and Durham's famous American Tobacco Campus a lively, very modernized entertainment venue. The ease of access to the Durham Freeway, Durham Transportation Center, Research Triangle Park, the Hospital and Duke University makes your daily commute ideal.Our first class fitness center, modern clubroom and extended outdoor courtyards surrounding the sparkling pool and grilling area are the perfect retreat to delight your senses and make Downtown Durham's heart of urban living honed to perfection..

Leasing Terms

Lease terms are variable. Please inquire with property staff.

Pet Policy

Dogs Allowed. Cats Allowed. Pets Accepted. Call for service animal policy.

Community Information

204 units

Building Type

Apartment

Contact Property

Contact Propertyor call

Neighborhood Info

Ratings & Reviews

Overall Rating

3.1 out of 5 stars

(59)
  • 5 stars10
  • 4 stars17
  • 3 stars12
  • 2 stars11
  • 1 star9
  • Location
  • Value
  • Maintenance
  • Office Staff
  • Landscaping
  • Building Exterior
  • Move-in Condition
  • Parking
  • Rec Facilities
41 Reviews
  • Location
  • Value
  • Maintenance
  • Office Staff
  • Landscaping
  • Building Exterior
  • Move-in Condition
  • Parking
  • Rec Facilities

Certified Resident

Staff = Friendly and Prompt No issues Main gripe is with the cable // internet. I wish there was more flexib Read Moreility and that information wasn't fully disclosed prior to signature.

February 18, 2017

Was this helpful?Yes

Manager Response

Thank you for your four-star review of Whetstone Apartments! It's great to hear that your time with us and your interactions with our team have been enjoyable, as we strive to provide residents with exceptional service. We apologize for any miscommunication regarding our cable provider. If you have any questions about it, please don't hesitate to ask in our leasing office. Thanks again.

  • Location
  • Value
  • Maintenance
  • Office Staff
  • Landscaping
  • Building Exterior
  • Move-in Condition
  • Parking
  • Rec Facilities

Certified Resident

As a recent college graduate moving to Durham from out of state, I don't think I could've picked a better plac Read Moree to settle into. From such a prime location, I am a 10-15 minute walk from virtually anywhere in downtown Durham--restaurants, bars, music and theatre venues, salons, boutiques, and other businesses. Furthermore, staff is always friendly, maintenance is prompt, there are more than enough parking spaces, and the pool and gym are always open and well-maintained.

November 23, 2016

Was this helpful?Yes

Manager Response

Wow, we can't thank you enough for this lovely review of the Whetstone Apartments. Our goal is to create a warm and welcoming community complete with amazing amenities and fantastic customer service and your review tells us that we're fulfilling our goals. If you have any suggestions for how we could make your stay even better, give our office a call, we'd love to chat!

  • Location
  • Value
  • Maintenance
  • Office Staff
  • Landscaping
  • Building Exterior
  • Move-in Condition
  • Parking
  • Rec Facilities

Certified Resident

Don't get me wrong, this is a lovely place to live, in a convenient location. However, I feel like the amount Read MoreI pay in rent is not necessarily met with value in kind. Furthermore, be warned that it can be VERY difficult if you live in an apartment that is on the side of the building with the bus station -- the bright lights stay on until 2 in the morning, and the buses are louder than you might think!

February 18, 2017

Was this helpful?Yes

Manager Response

Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to hear that your experience at Whetstone Apartments has been overall enjoyable. That said, we're sorry that you have concerns regarding rent. We understand that rent rates can be a cause for frustration, but we want to assure you that our prices accurately reflect the current market. Furthermore, if you're having issues with your home's proximity to the bus station, please let us know in the office and we will look into a possible transfer if you'd like.

  • Location
  • Value
  • Maintenance
  • Office Staff
  • Landscaping
  • Building Exterior
  • Move-in Condition
  • Parking
  • Rec Facilities

Certified Resident

Everything was great until Tri-Bridge bought out the complex. The staff, cleanliness and management went downh Read Moreill quickly. The apt social events went from weekly to quarterly (at most). Mainance request were never done in a timely manner if ever completed. We didn't have AC for the last few months (durning the summer) because Tri-Bridge didn't want to pay for 3rd party repairs without a warranty. There was also a parking deck fiasco that resulted in us parking away from the building in winter.

February 11, 2017

Was this helpful?Yes

Manager Response

We're disappointed to hear that you're unsatisfied with your current living situation, especially because our team works hard to provide residents with a great place to call home. Furthermore, we strive to resolve all maintenance requests in a timely manner, though some work orders might take longer to fulfill than others. We'd love the opportunity to make your experience as pleasant as possible, so please stop by the office at your earliest convenience. Thank you.

  • Location
  • Value
  • Maintenance
  • Office Staff
  • Landscaping
  • Building Exterior
  • Move-in Condition
  • Parking
  • Rec Facilities

Certified Resident

The rent is too high for the location, especially the $/sqft. Amenities are good, but a lot of mandatory servi Read Moreces, for e.g., valet waste that is not really useful when you live right next to the trash chute. The accounting system is terrible, and I have had to call and have errors corrected many times. The apartment has been around for 2+ years, and they still don't have all entrances fully operational. This means that you have to walk around the property to one of two entrances to get back in.

February 10, 2017

Was this helpful?Yes

Manager Response

While we appreciate your feedback, we're sorry to learn that other aspects of your experience have been less positive. We're always looking for ways to make things even better for our residents, and we will take your comments regarding our valet trash service and accounting system into consideration. Regarding rent, we assure you that our rates fairly and accurate reflect the current market. If you have any further concerns, please let us know in the office. Thank you.

See More Reviews

Contact Property

By sending, you agree to Rent.com's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Office Hours

Monday-Thursday: 10:00am-6:00pm

Friday-Saturday: 10:00am-5:00pm

Sunday: 1:00pm-5:00pm

Managed by

TriBridge Residential

Search Apartments in Nearby Cities