Rent.com
Help & Feedback

The Sterling Apartment Homes Certified Resident Ratings & Reviews℠

(1744)

Apartment, 536 units 1815 John F Kennedy Blvd, Philadelphia PA 19103

Overall Rating

3.9 out of 5 stars

(1744)
  • 5 stars 570
  • 4 stars 773
  • 3 stars 224
  • 2 stars 96
  • 1 stars 81
  • Maintenance 4.1
  • Office staff 3.9
  • Building Exterior 3.7
  • Move-in condition 3.8
107 Reviews

Overall Satisfaction

  • Maintenance
  • Building Exterior

The Sterling Apartment Homes Resident

Certified Resident

I wasn't at home when they came to fix the closet door. They did a good job. And the front desk called me late Read Morer to make sure problem solved. I was happy about that. Thank you!

February 18, 2015

Was this helpful? Yes 0 No 0

Overall Satisfaction

  • Maintenance
  • Office staff
  • Building Exterior

Certified Resident

This has been a terrible experience and can not wait to move out. I feel that this building only cares about t Read Morehe new apartments and the new tenants they get to rent those apartments for more money. They do not care about the people that already live here.

February 18, 2015

Was this helpful? Yes 0 No 0

Overall Satisfaction

The Sterling Apartment Homes Resident

Certified Resident

OK overall. Repairs are done in a timely manner, but not always paying attention to details, resulting in sho Read Moreddy-looking results. Rents are expensive given the construction-related inconveniences. If it weren't for how easy the process is to lease from The Sterling, and the flexibility in terms of the length of the lease, I would probably have looked elsewhere, as I could probably get a nicer apartment at the same price point.

February 11, 2015

Was this helpful? Yes 0 No 0

Overall Satisfaction

Certified Resident

The Sterling is centrally located and the staff is friendly and courteous. Despite the age of the building, w Read Moree appreciate the updates they are making to the building in order to stay competitive with surrounding rentals and to accomodate the current needs of the community.

February 11, 2015

Was this helpful? Yes 0 No 0

Overall Satisfaction

Certified Resident

The Sterling Apartment Homes has far too many issues to warrant signing a lease here. From construction delays Read More, to frequent maintenance issues, I have been extremely dissatisfied living here. For the duration of my lease I have not been able to use the pool and roofdeck I pay for. It is always a game to figure out which entrance/exit is closed for construction and which elevator is shut down. Speaking of elevators, it takes absolutely forever to catch one and then go up to my floor (23). Management is not understanding and think a Cosi's breakfast once in a while will relieve this distress. I will say that there are myths -- haven't seen a cockroach in my apartment and the fire alarm doesn't always go off and if it does, the front desk is good about investigating it before requiring everyone to leave the building. Oh, and the Comcast building construction next door is ridiculously loud. Good luck ever sleeping past 7am Monday through Saturday. Overall, I'd suggest living somewhere else and checking back here in 6 years after both Sterling and Comcast are both finished with there impossibly disturbing construction projects.

January 23, 2015

Was this helpful? Yes 0 No 0

Overall Satisfaction

Certified Resident

Would not recommend this apartment home to anyone. Constant elevator problems - rarely even 3 working at one Read Moretime. Seems like they don't repair them timely (right when they breakdown) because there are often 2 down at once and they are both repaired at the same time. Constant construction with noises and construction workers using the freight elevators. Management has done nothing to prohibit their use of elevators during peak rush hour times nor enforce them making noise before 8am. New units are nice but the floor boards are terrible which cause the units below the new units to be able to hear every time someone walks, drops a pen, etc. Fire alarm goes off frequently and is so poorly handled by building management it is bizarre. The fire alarm will go off in the middle of the night and the front desk will not inform the residents of whether it is a real emergency or false alarm, leaving them to have to wait until the line is free to call down and ask. Older units have frequent problems with showers/HVAC units. Pros are the apartments are large, good location for those who want to be near the train, and package handling by the staff is a solid process. Also the people who regularly work the front desk are friendly.

January 22, 2015

Was this helpful? Yes 0 No 0

Overall Satisfaction

Certified Resident

I expect a call on this survey I have no problem with the maintenance staff. This building is a sham when we Read Moresinged the lease we were told the construction and new gym/roof deck would be ready in January,now it seems that is not the case. The elevator issues have caused my family massive issues getting to school/work on time. We have not been communicated to at all on these issues from management. When I inquired about compensation I was told bagels would be provided which is not acceptable. And now to top it all off this morning I wake up to the water being shut off, which we were not notified about and I am sure that is illegal. Bering in mind we have a child living here. Also my wife has photographed many roaches by the gym and says the trash cans are always overflowing and the water cooler always empty. I expect communication on these issues and we will be adding our comments to google reviews.

January 20, 2015

Was this helpful? Yes 0 No 0

Overall Satisfaction

The Sterling Apartment Homes Resident

Certified Resident

Before the construction it was marvelous,now not so much.

December 25, 2014

Was this helpful? Yes 0 No 0

Overall Satisfaction

Certified Resident

Fix The Elevators!!!!!!!!!!!!

December 25, 2014

Was this helpful? Yes 0 No 0

Overall Satisfaction

  • Maintenance
  • Office staff
  • Building Exterior

The Sterling Apartment Homes Resident

Certified Resident

The competition looks very appealing. Time to look for another community that doesn't feel like a housing proj Read Moreect.

December 25, 2014

Was this helpful? Yes 0 No 0

Reviews 1-10 of 107

Thank you, your Rent.com account has been created. Please submit a custom password below.

Maybe Later
Temporary password created
x Close
  • A welcome email has been sent to you with a link to customize your password
This Rent.com One Web page lovingly constructed by HTML elves wearing Satin Gloves of Speed Cobbling in 0.897 seconds.
Forgot your password?
x Close

No big deal. Just enter your email and we'll send your Rent.com password reset instructions.

  • Got it. It's on its way. Check your email for a password reset link.
Create account to claim Reward
X
  • Please create an account to claim your reward.
    Already have an account? Sign in
  • OR
  • sign in using:

Email addresses are not shared with third-parties. We will give you a heads up on apartment listings via email. Privacy Policy

Already have an account? Sign In
Sign In to claim Reward
X
Don't have an account? Create one
Create a free account to save favorites & share.
x Close
    OR
    We won't post to your wall.

    Email addresses are not shared with third-parties. We will give you a heads up on apartment listings via email. Privacy Policy

    Profile
    x Close
    • Profile Saved.
    Share Listing
    x Close

    Your Email edit

    Thank you. Your message has been sent.

    Find a property on Rent.com that features our $100 Reward.

    Tell the leasing office you found the property on Rent.com.

    Report your lease to us online or by calling (866) 432-RENT (7368). We'll even remind you!

    We'll confirm your lease and send you a $100 prepaid Visa® debit card!

    Check Availability
    x Close

    Your Email Edit

    Bedrooms

    Your message has been sent.
    This property will be saved under "Contacted" on My Rent.com.

    Contact Property
    x

      By sending, you agree to Rent.com's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

      x
      Alert Me
      × Close

      Create a free account to be alerted when units become available at:

        • Your alert has been created.
          When units become available, we'll send you an email to .
        Already have an account? Sign In
        Ok
        Alert Me
        × Close

        Create a free account to be alerted when units become available at:

          • Your alert has been created.
            When units become available, we'll send you an email to .
          Already have an account? Sign In
          Ok
          Alert Me
          × Close

          Create a free account to be alerted when units become available at:

            • Your alert has been created.
              When units become available, we'll send you an email to .
            Already have an account? Sign In
            Ok
            Schedule a Visit: {{ currFloorplan-name }}
            x Close

            Your Email Edit

            Your message has been sent.

            Schedule a Visit: {{ currFloorplan-name }}
            x Close

            Your message has been sent.

            Reminders to claim your $100 Reward
            x Close
            • Reminders Saved.
            When are you moving? ( can be estimated )
            Reminder date

            *

            *approx two weeks after you move
            Reminder email to:
            Automated phone call to:
            Enter password I forgot my password
            Create password
            Sign In
            Don't have a Rent.com account? Create one
            Get more with a free account
            x
            A Rent.com account allows you to save properties, organize searches, contact apartment managers, and claim your Rent.com $100 Visa® Reward Card.

            By creating an account, you agree to Rent.com's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

            Already have an account? Sign In
            Help & Feedback
            x Close
            What is the status of my
            $100 Reward Card?
            Check Status
            Talk to Us
            Monday-Friday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. EST
            (866) 432-RENT (7368)
            Email Us
            Trying to unsubscribe? Have Reward
            Card status or search questions?
            We're here to help.
            Send Email
            Give Us Feedback
            Got an idea to make Rent.com better?
            Having a technical problem?
            Let us know.
            Give Feedback