The Benson

850 N Benson Ave

Property Ratings

5
3
4
5
3
1
2
2
1
5

Ratings & Trends

Location

3.7

Value

2.8

Maintenance

3.2

Office Staff

3.8

Landscaping

3.1

Building Exterior

3

Move-in Condition

3.5

Parking

2.5

Rec Facilities

3.2
May 10, 2021
Tamara is very sweet
Anonymous
April 27, 2021
I lived here for a year. Really bad experience, police came often, twice came to my apartment looking for someone who I didn't know, once around 7 am. Once in the pool I had an experience with really rude men, loud music, drinking, and using awful vocabulary with children present. And when I left at the end of the lease I got a bill afterwards that looked as if I was paying the monthly rent. I wouldn't recommend it.
Anonymous
February 20, 2021
I lived here 6 months with the worst neighbors...annoyingly loud parties that would go on to 3am. Multiple security reports. Management didn't do a thing for me besides thanking me for my patience... instead of evicting them or pushing for the fair outcome, they gave me the option to leave with a pro rated rent and asked me to pay a fee??? Where is the moral sense that I know have to spend personal money to move out, be liable for 30 days more, and tell me there is nothing else that can be done. I even had video recordings taken from inside my apartment demonstrating the loud music. 6months is what I lasted. Save your money and take your business else where.
Anonymous
August 29, 2016
I like my apartment and the staff is awesome & excellent in what they do!! However, there's a lot of trash dumping on the property, skate boarding & riding of bikes on walk ways, and illegal parking from school parents who are NOT residents. They block the entrance off of 11th street every morning. There no supervision from the school or Alvista to prevent or control the traffic flow & illegal parking!!
Anonymous
March 02, 2016
Every time I call with a problem, its addressed instantly. I appreciate that.
Stacy L.
October 17, 2015
Terrible place to stay.
Anonymous
October 15, 2015
I just moved in so I am not totally familiar with the complex yet. Prior to move in, I did my research on this location and what its strong and weak points were. Some huge strong points were the staff in the office has been nice, the apartment looked great on move in, and it is an environment that I feel I can call home. Some of the down sides are that there is a roach bug problem, maintenance can take awhile, and the apartment can be hard to keep (affordably) cool on warm/hot days.
Anonymous
October 15, 2015
They never fixed the issue I had with the floor which is still it repaired after 4 them trying 4 times. Then I come home and find them using my electricity to renovate the apartment next door to me! How do I know!? I found the extension cord connected to my patio outlet. If anyone is interested in what I'm talking about I have pictures!
Ryan R.
October 12, 2015
The Upkeep Of The Property Is Poor, Looks Dingy With The Color, Leaves Always On The Ground,,Very Messy, Almost Slipped On A Berry From The Tree, Property Looks Dirty All The Time, Maybe A Brighter Color, Bright Flowers May Help---
Tawanna T.
October 12, 2015
I couldn't ask for a better management team than Alvista Portofino's team. They're always professional, upbeat and helpful and they treat their residents with kindness and respect. They're standard of excellence is admirable and greatly appreciated. Also, the gorgeous trees here make me feel like I'm getting away from the rat race and yet I'm right in the middle of a lifestyle filled with the conveniences of modern city living. I love it here. I feel very fortunate living at Alvista Portofino.
Anonymous
October 11, 2015
The new staff is so much easier to deal with the. Very happy with living in the complex
Deborah H.