Colony Oaks Apartments

19 Petunia Dr

Property Ratings

5
3
4
12
3
5
2
2
1
1

Ratings & Trends

Location

3.9

Value

3.5

Maintenance

3.4

Office Staff

3.9

Landscaping

3.7

Building Exterior

3.5

Move-in Condition

3.6

Parking

4.1

Rec Facilities

2.7
April 17, 2020
My husband and I have lived in the 2-bedroom apartment at Colony Oaks for almost 7 years. We moved in when I was pregnant with our first child and have raised our now two children from babies into young kids here. It was a nice, secure, safe place to start our family, and I don't have any major complaints. The apartments are extremely quiet. The walls are super solid and you can't hear a thing from your neighbors. The neighborhood is also very quiet and peaceful. There is a small playground on the property, and it's also nice to walk or jog around the neighborhood. The apartment feels bigger than the listed square footage, since the wall space is well put together to handle a lot of furniture, and there are lots of closets and storage space. For a nice size apartment, two full bathrooms, big balcony, in-unit washer/dryer, and the super commuter-friendly location, I find the price to be very reasonable. Ample parking, no problem to have a few people over. My favorite thing about this place is the maintenance people. They are extremely fast to repair things and very courteous. And I can't overstate how quiet it is. To me, that is the single most important factor in quality of life in an apartment. The leasing office folks are fine -- some people are nicer than others. We are moving out in two months because we bought a home, so I can't yet comment on security deposit. Overall, I am very pleased with our choice to move here 7 years ago. It was a great place to start our family.
Anonymous
September 09, 2019
I lived here between 2014-2019. Overall, the place wasn't bad. There were areas that were dated. The downstairs neighbor was a "crazy cat lady" that fed the feral cats and smoked cigarettes all the time. We couldn't open the windows very often. I would have given this a a better review if they didn't nickel and dime us on our deposit. They charged us $250 for "damages" that were explained as "kitchen floor, oven, cabinet door, and freezer were dirty". Knowing the maintenance people, I worked extra hard to make sure everything was clean and we cleaned the apt every weekend while we lived there. Please take pictures of everything when you move out. They are a bit shady once you leave.
Anonymous
August 19, 2019
No word at all from this property manager.
Anonymous
August 11, 2017
I absolutely despised my whole experience here. They are always in your business. You don't have 3 days in a row where they don't knock on your door "asking" to come in and "fix" something. And if they aren't doing that they are constantly waking you up with their lawnmowers which seem to run 4 out of 7 days of the week right underneath your window. The final nail in the coffin is their farewell gift to you. Which basically the apartment that was handed to you in it's ragged state is then checked at the end of your stay to see if any damage was done to it. ( don't bother cleaning they'll find something anyway) and you get charged extra money so they don't have to give you your deposit back. If you respect yourself just a little bit. Do not stay here. Ever.
Anonymous
July 13, 2014
Well maintained grounds at least in the front area where I reside, friendly leasing staff, maintenance is usually pretty responsive - cons, some of the appliances and cabinets are dated.
Anonymous
January 21, 2014
Colony Oaks has more than sufficient parking (even if it is inconvenient) and the one bedroom apartment I lived in was a fairly decent size, with the best feature being the washer and dryer. The pool was well maintained in summer and the balcony is private and spacious. The maintenance people seem to think they should be able to enter apartments whenever they wish for no reason, so change your locks before leaving your apartment unattended.
Anonymous
January 15, 2014
Prompt response to issues
Fredda J.
January 15, 2014
The apartment size and closet space.
Anonymous
January 15, 2014
The building is old and not well maintained. The gym closes at 6 pm and in essence, is not available for use even though they charge a mandatory access fee for the facility. Its safe and quiet but I would not recommend it for family.
Anonymous
January 14, 2014
Quiet apartment neighborhood with a good staff. Apartments themselves could have used some updating in the kitchen and bath, but overall looked appealing. Everything was always in working order over our 1.5 year rental.
Anonymous