Harper's Point

8713 Harperpoint Drive

Property Ratings

5
2
4
3
3
2
2
1
1
4

Ratings & Trends

Location

4.3

Value

3.2

Maintenance

3.9

Office Staff

3.8

Landscaping

4

Building Exterior

3.7

Move-in Condition

3.9

Parking

3.7

Rec Facilities

4.2
July 29, 2019
STAY AWAY!!! I rented a 1BD townhouse that I was told was fully renovated. Upon moving in there were holes in the bathroom, water damage on the kitchen cabinets, water spots on the ceiling, and the smell of mold in the apartment. I spoke with the leasing office and they claimed the smell was from the apartment being closed up and the vents being blown out. They had to come out the first week and fix a leaky faucet which is the same cabinet that has water damage and mold on it in the pictures. They had to tear up half the roof a couple months later when I kept complaining that the smell wasn't leaving. The smell never went away and mold began to grow on my towels and kitchen cabinets. After several complaints and a refusal from management to do a mold test they let me out of my lease without penalty. I did not even stay in the apartment the last 2 months as the smell was disgusting and I was starting to get sick. They let me out of the lease because they knew something wasn't right not because they are nice people. No management group will just let someone out a lease easily unless there is a serious problem. This has cost me over $6,000 dollars in moving fees, medical bills, new furniture, etc. Towne Properties has refused to help compensate me for any of this even though the property manager admitted to me on the phone that there was something not right about the apartment and indeed it did have a musty mildew smell. He even went as far as agreeing with me that some sort of compensation should be due to me and that he would have thrown out the furniture as well after looking at the pictures. Unfortunately, when it came to pay it out the tune changed and the smell was then deemed due to a pet. I am sorry but I have an email from the first day I moved in about the smell and pets do not smell like mold and mildew. The pictures speak for themselves so STAY AWAY see Google for photos!!!!
Anonymous
July 04, 2018
Why would anyone spend this much on an apt with no utilities provided? Why not get a house? Lol
Anonymous
November 12, 2014
Apartments are overpriced for the size, also, they could use some major maintenance. In the year I've lived here, we've had to have maintenance / service for: broken toilet (only one bathroom in the apartment), broken water heater, rain water / melting snow water leaking in through BOTH front windows, broken A / C, mold growth in the bathroom, broken electric fuse (spent a whole night without power), & water leaking into the bathroom walls.
Anonymous
November 12, 2014
The apartment that I live in is a bit outdated, but you cannot beat the location of the complex. Grocery, great restaurants, and shopping, are just a short walk away. Weller Park is located right next door and it is a beautiful park. The staff is great and have always been very helpful and responsive. Many of the apartments are updated and redecorated and if I was in one of those I would have rated the satisfaction as EXCELLENT.
Anonymous
June 18, 2014
I lived in at the good end where all the action was (pool, music night) all I had to do is step outside my door to enjoy the festivities.
Anonymous
January 24, 2014
Location is "okay"...traffic is horrible on 71-S in the morning going only to Ronald Reagan! Since it has been snowing, the maintenance crew has been taking hours, if at all to shovel sidewalks, as well as putting out salt for tenants. LOVE the summer time though when there isn't traffic and when the pool is open- it makes it all worth it :-) I also love the events that they host every month/holiday :-)
Anonymous
January 14, 2014
I was supposed to move into a brand new renovated townhome on 10/1, week before I moved from South Dakota to Ohio they told me the townhome wasn't ready yet and could I postpone my move. I was moving for my job and was able to change the date of my move. When I got there on 11/1 I found out that the townhome still wasn't ready and they hadn't let me know. the only thing they had was a 3 bedroom, I had agreed to a 2 bedroom, so I had to take what was available and pay more.
Anonymous
December 25, 2013
I wasn't a fan of the commute downtown for work and my social life but otherwise I had a great living experience. I had a bad experience with ending my lease early - there were a lot of hidden fees that were not clearly explained to me when I started the process of moving out and rather than reply to my requests for an explanation (I had multiple un-returned phone calls and finally had to visit in person to get answers) they sent my unpaid bill to a collections agency.
Linda B.
December 25, 2013
All of the staff is super friendly and anytime there were any maintanence problems they were taken care of right away.
Anonymous
December 25, 2013
If you weren't part of the "click" at the pub the management was not very friendly or receptive. The pool was over crowded with non residents all the time. The drunken rowdiness and gay relations in open public in front of children was overlooked when reported on numerous occasions.
Jennifer B.
December 20, 2013
We had some problems with the neighbor who lived upstairs above us, but once she was gone, we didn't have any problems.
Anonymous